My go-to green smoothie!

 I am a breakfast person. Much like a hobbit, I believe in having multiple breakfasts. While I prefer my second breakfast to be chock full of protein, carbs, and healthy fats, I prefer a lighter first breakfast.

Enter the green smoothie. This bright green delight allows me to get in a few servings of fruit and veggies early in the day and with minimal effort. I can’t be bothered with chewing food before 9 a.m.!

Now. Let me be clear: though I’ve joyfully hopped on the green smoothie bandwagon or food truck, as it were, I’m not making any wild claims about what a green smoothie will do for you. If you’re like me, you’ll experience some benefits because you’ll be getting about three more servings of produce than you would if you were skipping out the door with a cereal bar and an apple (FYI my skin is noticeably clearer when I’m going steady with the green smoothies and I’m much less sluggish than when I opt for a bowl of cereal). But what I like best about these emerald beverages is that they offer a surprisingly tasty way to begin the day with nutrient-rich fruits and veggies.

Here’s my favorite green smoothie concoction:


You’ll need:

  • one apple or pear, cored and quartered
  • two handfuls of washed spinach
  • juice of one lime or lemon
  • about 12 ounces of water, pineapple juice, coconut water, or a combination of the three

Place the apple or pear in a blender, and then follow with the remaining ingredients. Blend for a minute or more, until the mixture liquifies. Pour into glasses and drink as-is or, if you’d prefer a more liquid consistency, scoop off the foam and/or pour the smoothie through a strainer to make this a green juice.

 

For a thicker consistency, serve the smoothie as-is after blending.

 

For a smoother texture, scoop off the heady foam. You could also pour the smoothie through a strainer for a more juice-like experience.

This recipe will make enough to fill two tall glasses. Feel free to share or keep all that green goodness to yourself! Yum!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kenyatta says:

    Hi irie! Reading your blog and I think i will be trying all these smoothies i love these meals in a cup because i can trick landon into veggies 😊

    Like

    1. Irie. says:

      Yay! Try adding an extra apple or a banana to the green smoothie — it’ll add a little extra sweetness that kids often like. Or try the cherry ginger smoothie — it doesn’t have veggies but it does have good fruit and some protein! Thank you for reading!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

