I’ve got a fever and the only cure is more yoga — and that’s a problem.

  You know that annoying friend who’s always talking about how great yoga is? The one who looks for a way to work yoga into the conversation and wears stretchy pants at every given opportunity? That’s probably me.
I tell my husband all the time: “Yoga helped me gain strength! Flexibility! Balance! Stamina! Self-acceptance! Yoga is a great metaphor for life!”

So it probably wouldn’t surprise you that I am almost always thinking about yoga and the next time I get to do it. 

While at work, I find myself doing spinal twists in my chair, forward folds at lunch, and even the occasional handstand when (I’m pretty sure) no one’s looking. The physicality of the asanas are irresistible to me, and I often myself wishing I could practice for two or three or four hours in a day. Rather than devoting my full attention to the present task at hand, I find myself drifting, mentally preparing for an upcoming yoga session.
And therein lies the problem. 

Traditionally yoga poses aren’t meant to be practiced as an end in themselves, but rather as way to prepare the body for engaging with the divine. Ideally, one doesn’t only crave the physical practice, but also the spiritual practice that is facilitated by releasing stubborn muscles.

So this is me trying to shift my perspective a bit. To delight in the stillness as much as the movement. To savor the present moment rather than skipping ahead to whatever I wish would be. To use asana as a means to an ongoing journey, rather than the summit of my day.

During this week’s posts, I’ll focus on how I’m working to do just that. I hope you’ll join me!

Leave a Reply

