Easy chia bowl breakfast

  
With three children and a job that requires my presence by 7:30 a.m., I’m always on the lookout for quick, satisfying breakfasts. Though my kids love cereal, I find that most cold cereals leave me hungry 30 minutes later. Now, ideally I’d start my day with an early morning green smoothie. However, on most weekdays even running the blender feels like a stretch. Chia seed bowls offer a great, speedy alternative — plus they offer energy that will last me most of the morning: Two tablespoons of chia seeds offer about 4 grams of protein and about 7 grams of fat, plus a hearty portion of omega 3s.

Chia bowls are a snap to prepare and, with the right toppings, quell hunger without leaving you sluggishly full. I love to add crunchy and fruity toppings to balance the soft texture of the soaked chia seeds, and I’m always sure to throw in some nuts for extra fat and protein. 
Experiment with your town toppings to find your chia bowl sweet spot, and use the simple guide below to prepare this easy morning treat.

For a single serving, you’ll need: 

  • 2 tablespoons of chia seeds
  • 1/4 almond milk (or other milk)
  • Toppings like shredded coconut, nuts, uncooked rolled oats, and fresh or frozen fruit 

1. Add the chia seeds to the almond milk and stir until the seeds are coated; some may float to the surface of the liquid.

2. Allow the seeds to sit for about 10 minutes to absorb the liquid. (This is the time I use to get kids dressed, pack lunches, sign permission slips, or load my bag into the car.)

3. Stir the mixture thoroughly. Sprinkle with your favorite toppings. A few of my favorites:

  • Frozen cherries + rolled oats + unsweetened shredded coconut + walnut pieces
  • Diced apples + almond slivers + rolled oats
  • Sliced bananas + unsweetened shredded coconut + walnut pieces or pecan pieces 
  • Diced nectarines + pecan pieces 

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

