How Irie got her groove back

Okay, so the title is a bit optimistic, seeing as how I haven’t really gotten my groove back, but am currently trying to retrieve it. 

I’ve been slacking on the blog posts and a bit in my yoga practice. End-of-year festivities, a couple of rounds of sickness, and a laissez-faire summertime attitude have combined to a less-than-disciplined approach to yoga and blogging. I’m trying to get back into the groove. Part of doing that is figuring out how and when I got out of it in the first place.

I think it all started with the time change. Prior to that point, I had been rising religiously sometime in the 5 o’clock hour to meditate and practice yoga. After the time sprang forward, my body didn’t exactly take to the shift. Instead of waking up at 5, I snagged another hour of sleep and tried to shoe-horn a yoga practice in during the evening after the kids were in bed. That meant practicing at 9, 10, even 11 at night — not exactly conducive for a focused practice and a crisp mind, for me anyway.

As engagements crowded our April and May evenings, finding time for yoga and blogging became increasingly difficult. A few weeks ago, I decided to take a week off from the blog, which quickly became two and then two-and-a-half weeks. At the same time, I dropped to about 5 days of yoga practice a week, or I did six days of practice but kept them shorter or more yin than usual. Some part of me probably needed this break. Physically, I needed rest, and I couldn’t get that with our increased evening meetings, my teaching job, my yoga teaching gig, my three kids, my blog, my personal yoga practice, and my refusal to awaken at 5 am.

Now that it’s summer, I have some space to reflect and also to jumpstart my routine. I’m trying to achieve that by doing four things:

1. Setting a consistent time for yoga

With my summer schedule, I can get into the yoga studio a bit more frequently in the evenings. When I can’t, I’m trying to get my yoga in during the morning hours. This helps me practice when my mind is fresh, and before I’m tempted to swap yoga time for some item on my to-do list.

2. Doing more yin and restorative yoga

I’m understanding that my body needs more restful yoga right now. Instead of bowing out of practice altogether, I’m trying to allow my body to rest in yin and restorative yoga practices once or twice a week. That way, I get some physical rest while continuing in the habit I’m trying to establish.

3. Going to sleep earlier 

Going to bed before midnight helps me wake up early enough to practice. Also, when I stay up past midnight, it’s usually because I’ve fallen down the rabbit hole of YouTube or am looking up something useless on Wikipedia, so it’s not like I’m staying up to write the great American novel or anything. Going to sleep earlier allows me the chance to take care of my body, rest my mind, and set myself up for success the following day. 

4. Eating better and drinking more water

Something about downing a bunch of chips and popcorn makes me lethargic and uninterested in anything but Netflix. When I infuse my diet with more water, vegetables, and fruit, I feel more energetic and more interested in accomplishing things. That’s an all-around win.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress as I attempt to reestablish my routine. In fact, part of the reason I’m sharing this post with you is to hold myself accountable. Hopefully doing so will give me another robust practice to take me into the fall!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

